Music, Classical

York Guildhall Orchestra

Up Next: 20th May 2023, 7:30pm
Location: Paragon Street, York, YO10 4NT
Nick Wright 4


Bernstein – Overture to Candide

Korngold – Violin Concerto in D

Rachmaninov – Symphony No.2

The final concert this season will feature one of Rachmaninov’s best and most well-known symphonies. We will start with an exciting and fizzing overture to a Bernstein Operetta Candide.

We are delighted that Nicholas will be joining us from his home in Vancouver for a performance of a brilliant work for violin and orchestra. Korngold was a renowned Hollywood film composer, but he also wrote works for the concert hall, including this concerto that has many musical flavours of the film world.

The world had to wait over nine years after the challenges of the performance of Rachmaninov’s his first symphony for the second to come along. To be fair, both are wonderful works, but the second has become much more well-known with its glorious soaring melodies.

A wonderful concert to close the season.

You may also like

Have a go Sword For YAT and external media cropped
Family friendly white

Berserker Boot Camp

JORVIK Viking Centre

Maje 2
Family friendly white
25th March 2023

Majesty: Monarchy and York Minster

York Minster

YD Walking Tours Poster 1406021940
Things to do white

York Dungeon City Walking Tours