York Chamber Music Festival - Event 3

17th Sep 2021
Location: National Centre for Early Music, St Margaret’s Church ,York
Visit our website
Buy Tickets


Friday 17 September | 7:30pm
National Centre for Early Music, St Margaret’s Church
Unreserved seating £15

Concert by Festival Artists
Anthony Marwood and Pablo Hernán (Violins)
Lilli Maijala (viola)
Tim Lowe (cello)

​Josef Haydn (1732 – 1809) String Quartet in C Major, Op. 54, No. 2
Felix Mendelssohn (1809 – 1847) String Quartet No. 6 in F minor, Op. 80
Robert Schumann (1810 – 1856) String Quartet in A minor, Op. 41, No. 1

​Haydn wrote six quartets for his friend, the violinist Johann Tost when he left the Esterházy orchestra to freelance in Paris. Tost found a publisher and these major string quartets entered the public realm; masterpieces all, the C Major quartet full of Hungarian verve, masterly and original.

The F-Minor String Quartet was Mendelssohn’s last completed work. It is an anguished outpouring of emotion due to the death of his beloved sister; from beginning to end, a work of unprecedented intensity, with no holds barred, revealing Mendelssohn’s dark side.

Continuing the festival’s long-term exploration of Robert Schuman’s chamber music we turn this year to his A Minor string quartet. Clara’s return to Leipzig from a long concert tour triggered an intense outpouring of chamber works by her husband. Composed in the summer of 1842 we hear close reference to Beethoven, Schubert and Mendelssohn. In the slow movement Schumann truly reveals his soul, perhaps his most sublime slow movement.

You may also like

River Ouse 614164927

York Chamber Music Festival

Visit our eshop to buy exclusive York gifts and merchandise.

Shop Now
New Site Ad 02 New Site Ad 03 Mobile