Music, Music - Classical

University Symphony Orchestra

27th Nov 2021
Location: Sir Jack Lyons Concert Hall
01904 322439 Call Us
Visit our website
Buy Tickets
My Post 71

Christopher Pearce tuba

John Stringer conductor

George Walker Lyric for Strings

Thomas Ades …but all shall be well

Edward Gregson Tuba Concerto

Elgar Polonia, op. 76

Lyric for Strings is one of African-American composer Geroge Walker’s best-known works; its sonorous harmonies and sumptuous string writing are reminiscent of Samuel Barber’s Adagio for Strings. Three lines from the last of T.S. Eliot’s Four Quartets inspired the tile of Thomas Ades’ first large-scale orchestral work whose intricate and slowly unfolding lines immerse the listener in a meditative sound world. Third-year student Christopher Pearce performs English composer Edward Gregson’s Tuba Concerto, and Elgar’s symphonic prelude Polonia, which includes references to Romantic and patriotic Polish music, draws this hour-long concert to a close.

University of York Opening Hours

Mon-Fri 1.30-4.00pm


Youmay also like

Green Matthews New Visit York
16th Dec 2021 - 16th Dec 2021


National Centre for Early Music

1080x628 1
Arts culture white
5th Nov 2021 - 5th Nov 2021

Jools Holland and The Rhythm & Blues Orchestra

York Barbican

My Post 74
Arts culture white
9th Feb 2022 - 9th Feb 2022

Clare Hammond

University of York

Visit our eshop to buy exclusive York gifts and merchandise.

Shop Now
New Site Ad 02 New Site Ad 03 Mobile