Entertainment, Workshops, Talks & Lectures, Community Event, Theatre, Open Air Theatre, Play

Sovereign

Up Next: 15th July 2023, 7:00pm
Square for email
About

A WORLD PREMIERE BASED ON THE MUCH-LOVED C.J.SANSOM NOVEL

The year is 1541.

Lawyer Matthew Shardlake and his assistant Jack Barak await the arrival of Henry VIII who is travelling to York in spectacular style to display his power and ‘sort out’ the northern rebels. Tasked with a secret mission, Shardlake is protecting a dangerous prisoner who is to be returned to London for interrogation.

But when the murder of a York glazier plunges Shardlake into a deep mystery which threatens the Tudor dynasty itself, he must work against time to avert a terrifying chain of events.

Told through the voices of the people of York, featuring a large local cast and choir, this is community theatre on a grand scale.

Set outdoor in the grounds of the historic King’s Manor, expect intrigue, conspiracy and a thrilling night out.

Please note that the seating area will be covered and will be unreserved – with good views from all seats.

Details will be announced mid-November for how to get involved in the production – with exciting opportunities to be in the cast, choir, backstage and front of house. Watch this space for more info coming soon!

Upgrade your tickets to add the ‘Royal Premium Package‘ which includes a programme and interval hospitality.

Thank you to our sponsors Inglis Chartered Accountants.

Saturday, 15 Jul 19:00

Tuesday, 18 Jul 19:00

Wednesday, 19 Jul 19:00

Thursday, 20 Jul 19:00

Friday, 21 Jul 19:00

Saturday, 22 Jul 14:00

Saturday, 22 Jul 19:00

Tuesday, 25 Jul 19:00

Wednesday, 26 Jul 19:00

Thursday, 27 Jul 19:00

Friday, 28 Jul 19:00

Saturday, 29 Jul 14:00

Saturday, 29 Jul 19:00

Sunday, 30 Jul 14:00

York Theatre Royal Opening Hours

BOX OFFICE OPENING TIMES
Monday | 1pm-5pm
Tuesday to Saturday | 1pm-8pm (5pm on non-show days)

CAFÉ OPENING TIMES
Monday to Saturday | 10am – 4.30pm

You may also like

Fancy hanks print 186
24th Nov 2021 - 31st Dec 2022

Happy Hour! Every Day! 4 'til 7

Fancy Hank's Bar & Kitchen

Coastliner beat the rail fare increase 0 514351231

Yorkshire Coastliner

Abba Brunch
Evenings white
22nd Oct 2022 - 22nd Oct 2022

Wonder Brunch The Abba Show

Impossible Wonder bar and Tea rooms York