News Release - Issued by Quilt Museum and Gallery
The Quilt Museum and Gallery is celebrating the design and draughtsmanship skills of quilters through the ages as its first main exhibition for 2015. All Shapes and Sizes is a stunning collection of quilts that reveal complex, geometric designs that are pieced to perfection.
“It’s quite staggering to think that many of these quilts were pieced by makers who most certainly would not have had access to the tools and knowledge that today’s quilters take for granted”. How they achieved such precision with limited resources baffles quilt enthusiasts and is a topic of much debate. If only quilts could talk…”, commented Heather Audin, Museum Curator.
The exhibition showcases a fascinating and varied selection of items from The Quilters’ Guild Collection including The Billings Coverlet (1805-1810) - a Tour de Force of geometry with each of its fifteen frames executed precisely and displaying very small and difficult piecing. Equally impressive is the Concentric Row Hexagon Top (1880-89) which incorporates over 2000 hexagons and is real testament to the patience, fortitude and needlework skills of yesterday’s quiltmakers.
Quilt Historian and teacher Celia Eddy will be leading two practical workshops entitled ‘Patchwork and the Spirit of Geometry’ on the 20th March and repeated on the 21 March at the Quilt Museum and Gallery. Visit the Quilt Museum and Gallery website for more information www.quiltmuseum.org.uk/events
Notes to Editors
The Quilt Museum and Gallery
The Quilt Museum and Gallery is Britain's first museum dedicated to quiltmaking and textile arts.
The Museum is managed by The Quilters' Guild of the British Isles, an educational charity founded in 1979. Their aim is to promote the crafts of patchwork, appliqué and quilting through changing exhibitions of historic and contemporary textiles. The Quilt Museum and Gallery is independently funded through admissions, grants and donations.
Since its formation in 1979, The Quilters' Guild has built up a unique collection of antique and contemporary quilts from around the British Isles. The collection has grown due to both donations and acquisitions and now numbers over 800 items, from the earliest known dated British patchwork the 1718 Silk Patchwork Coverlet to recent pieces by contemporary quilt makers.
As well as full size quilts and coverlets, the collection includes miniature pieces, quilted clothing, small domestic items templates, tools and quilting equipment.
For hi-res images and further details please contact email@example.com
The Museum closes during exhibition changeovers. Please check the website www.quiltmuseum.org.uk or phone 01904 613 242 to check on opening times.
Opening Hours: Monday to Saturday, 10am–4pm, Admission charges apply.
Information contained in this press release was correct at the time of issue.
Quilt Museum and Gallery
St Anthony’s Hall, Peasholme Green
York, England YO1 7PW
Tel: 01904 613 242
The Quilt Museum and Gallery is an independent museum operated by The Quilters’ Guild of the British Isles. The Guild is a registered in England and Wales as a charity no.1067361 and a company limited by guarantee no. 3447631. The Guild is registered as a charity in Scotland no. SC043174.
The Museum and Gallery has been awarded the following:
• Trip Advisor Certificate of Excellence 2014
• Finalist in the Visit York Tourism Awards for Visitor Attraction of the year (under 50, 000) 2014
• Arts Council England Accredited Museum 2013
• Visit England Quality Assured Visitor Attraction and ‘Hidden Gem’ 2014
For all press and media enquiries, please contact our Communications Team:
Kay Hyde - Head of PR & Corporate Communications
Telephone : 01904 554451 | Email : firstname.lastname@example.org
Katie Parsons - Senior Communications Executive
Telephone : 01904 554436 | Email : email@example.com
NOTE: If you are a visitor or have a general enquiry, please email firstname.lastname@example.org or call 01904 550099.